Skip to main content
Press Information

Startup of two ESMT Berlin students to join accelerator program

The startup JetEight, which was founded by the two ESMT Berlin Master’s in Management students Ruben Portz and Lisa Makarova, has been selected for the prestigious acceleration program of Startupbootcamp Smart Transportation & Energy, a leading global startup accelerator located in Berlin and focusing on connected and efficient mobility.

The private air travel club JetEight is able to use the program as a stepping stone. For three months, twelve teams will work in Berlin’s Rainmaking Loft, a 1000-square-meter startup hub. During this time, JetEight will get the opportunity to collaborate with over 150 corporate partners, mentors, and investors such as Airbus, Kuehne + Nagel, and Mercedes Benz. Out of 288 global applications, JetEight was one of twelve startups to be chosen to participate in the program.

JetEight is a newly founded startup for innovative business travel that provides unlimited flights with private jets, starting with 2,500 EUR monthly. The first routes will be launched mid-2017. By using private jets of certified operators and private terminals, slow boarding processes and long security lines are obsolete, making business flights even more comfortable.

For more information, please visit


About ESMT Berlin

ESMT Berlin was founded by 25 leading global companies and institutions. The international business school offers a full-time MBA, an executive MBA, an executive MBA/MPA, a master's in management, as well as open enrollment and customized executive education programs. ESMT focuses on three main topics: leadership, innovation, and analytics. ESMT faculty publishes in top academic journals. Additionally, the business school provides an interdisciplinary platform for discourse between politics, business, and academia. It is based in Berlin, Germany, with a branch office in Shanghai, China. ESMT is a private business school with the right to grant PhDs and is accredited by the German state, AACSB, AMBA, EQUIS, and FIBAA.