Skip to main content
This is the AMC conference header photo, which is of the Humboldt University and ESMT Berlin buildings.

Asset Management Conference

August 19–20, 2024 at ESMT Berlin

Following the successes of the previous conferences, ESMT Berlin and the School of Business and Economics of the Humboldt University are co-hosting the sixth conference on Recent Advances in Mutual Fund and Hedge Fund Research. The goal of the conference is to bring together leading academics interested in asset management in an environment which facilitates networking and in-depth discussions of the latest research on mutual funds and hedge funds. A maximum of nine papers will be selected for the conference. To provide ample time for the discussion of each paper, one hour will be allocated for the presentation and discussion of each paper.

Jointly hosted by

Event overview

  • Call for papers

    Authors are welcome to submit empirical or theoretical research on any aspect related to mutual funds or hedge funds. Only papers that have not been published or accepted for publication will be considered. If you wish to have your paper considered for presentation at the conference, please:

    The authors of selected papers will be informed by the end of April 2024.


  • Program committee

    Vikas Agarwal (Georgia State University), George Aragon (Arizona State University), Nicole Boyson (Northeastern University), Joe Chen (University of California Davis), Darwin Choi (CUHK Business School), Richard Evans (University of Virginia Darden), Francesco Franzoni (USI Lugano), Simon Gervais (Duke University), Linlin Ma (Peking University), Pedro Matos (University of Virginia Darden), Abhiroop Mukherjee (HKUST), Melissa Prado (Nova SBE), Stefan Ruenzi (University of Mannheim), Sergei Sarkissian (McGill University), Chris Schwarz (University of California Irvine), Clemens Sialm (University of Texas at Austin), Gunter Strobl (University of Vienna), Zheng Sun (University of California Irvine), Melvin Teo (SMU), Ashish Tiwari (University of Iowa), Marno Verbeek (Erasmus University), Russ Wermers (University of Maryland), Lu Zheng (University of California Irvine)

  • Venue/directions

    The conference takes place at the ESMT Berlin, in the former GDR “Staatsratsgebäude” at Schlossplatz 1. Built in 1964, the building hosted the headquarters of the East German government, the Staatsrat (GDR’s National Council), until 1989. A noteworthy example of Germany’s modern architectural heritage, the building was used in varying functions after reunification and was the temporary office of the German Chancellor from 1999 to 2001. It has since been renovated and transformed into one of Germany’s most modern educational centers.


    Please see the How to get there page for further information.

Important dates

  • Call for paper opens: Feb. 9
  • Paper submission deadline: Mar. 29
  • Winners announced by April 30
  • Conference: Aug. 19–20

Past events

  • 2019 Conference
  • 2017 Conference
  • 2015 Conference
  • 2014 Conference
  • 2013 Conference