Skip to main content

Meet our team


Heli Tiirmaa-Klaar

Director, DSI
+49 30 21231–1652

Dr. Sandro Gaycken

Founding Director, DSI
+49 30 21231–1650


Prof. Dr. Christoph Thiel

Senior Researcher and Program Lead, DSI

Isabel Skierka-Canton

Researcher and Program Lead, DSI
+49 30 21231–1653

Dr. Shravana Kumar

Research Associate, DSI

Nils Brinker (born Wehkamp)

Researcher and Project Lead, DSI
+49 151 28860764

Konstantin Schaarschmidt

Researcher, DSI

Abdullah Qureshi

Research Assistant, DSI

Vincent Welzel

Research Assistant, DSI

Talha Güney

Intern, DSI
Management & Administration

Richard Skalt

Manager, DSI
+49 170 4807442

Ketevan Wehrsig

Training Coordinator, DSI
+49 170 7607319

Susan Burgard

Project Assistant, DSI
+49 30 21231–1657

Agnieszka Zanner

Administrative Assistant, DSI
Fellows and Advisors

Dr. Jamie Saunders

Fellow, DSI

Dr. Jamie Saunders is a strategic security consultant, providing security and risk management advice to a range of large corporations and governmental organisations.  He is a Fellow of the James Martin School at the University of Oxford and a Fellow of the Digital Society Institute at the European School of Management and Technology.

Karsten Geier

Fellow, DSI

Karsten Geier is an Envoy at Germany’s Permanent Representation to the European Union and Senior Cyber Diplomacy Advisor to the Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue.  He has held a variety of diplomatic postings, including as Cyber Coordinator in the German Federal Foreign Office.  In this position, he has worked intensively with international partners, in particular the United Nations, the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, and the EU.

Bernd Kowalski

Head of Department, BSI and Senior Advisor, DSI
External Affiliates

Prof. Philippe Baumard, Professor and Director, Conservatoire national des arts et métiers (Cnam)

Clemens Binninger, Former member of the German Bundestag and chairman of the Parliamentary Control Panel

Prof. Frédérick Douzet, Professor and Director, University of Paris 8, Institut Français de Géopolitique (IFG Lab)

Kenneth Geers, PhD, Very Good Security, Atlantic Council, NATO Cyber Centre


Michael Hange, Former President of the Federal Office for Information Security (BSI)

James Andrew Lewis, PhD, Director, Senior Fellow, Strategic Technologies Program, CSIS

John Mallery, Computer Science & Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, MIT

Advisory Council

Chairman: Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger, Chairman of the Munich Security Conference

Vice Chairman: Dr. Robert Blackburn, former President, Information Technology and Supply Chain Operations, BASF

Dr. Thomas Bagger, Director of Foreign Policy in the Office of the Federal President

Ambassador Sorin Ducaru, Senior Fellow, Hudson Institute, Washington DC, Special Advisor to the Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace, former NATO Assistant Secretary General

Melissa Hathaway, Senior Advisor, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard Kennedy School

Dr. Stefan Heißner, Partner, EY

Dr. Martin Hofmann, CIO, Volkswagen AG

Dr. Ralf Schneider, Group CIO, Allianz SE

Brigitte Zypries, Former Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy

Former Employees

Dr. Henning Lahmann

Former Senior Researcher, DSI

Lola Attenberger

Former Researcher and Project Lead, DSI

Lilian Fanderl

Former Student Research Assistant, DSI

Duc Anh Le

Former Student Research Assistant, DSI

Julia Kaubisch

Former Project Assistant, DSI

Stefan Schuck

Former Researcher, DSI

Fabian Heuer

Former Team Assistant, DSI

Martin Schallbruch

Former Director, DSI