Skip to main content
Students attending a lecture

Who we are

About us

The Friends of ESMT is membership organization currently consisting of over 50 individuals and 30 companies.

We are alumni, staff, faculty, recent graduates, parents of our students and graduates, and a further group of supporters around the world, including a number of world-renowned organizations, who identify with ESMT’s vision of responsible leadership.

The organization provides financial backing to ESMT projects through the proceeds of its membership contributions. It also currently holds a longstanding endowment, returns from which are used to provide unrestricted financial support, directly to the school itself.

The Friends of ESMT was formally established in 2011. It emerged as the successor to the Verein zur Förderung des Universitätsseminars der Wirtschaft e.V., which was founded in 1968 on ESMT’s former Schloss Gracht campus.


Benefits of membership

In addition to providing meaningful impact via their membership contribution, members of the Friends of ESMT are invited to all public events run by ESMT, to an annual members' meeting on the ESMT Berlin campus, and to an exclusive ESMT Friends Annual New Year’s reception hosted by ESMT’s President.

New members are very welcome, and encouraged to join the Friends of ESMTClick here to become a member.

One hundred percent of membership fees are used to support social impact initiatives. Click here to learn more about what we do.

Our leadership

Members of the Board of the Friends of ESMT

Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Harald Hungenberg, Dean of Programs, ESMT Berlin

Vice-Chairperson: Dr. Oliver Engels, Managing Director, Chief Risk Officer, Deutsche Börse AG

Treasurer: Georg Garlichs, Chief Financial Officer and Managing Director, ESMT Berlin

  • Nick Barniville, Founder, Gomera Tech; Former Associate Dean Degree Programs, ESMT Berlin
  • Anke Dassler, Senior Vice President Human Resources, Evonik Industries AG
  • Claudia Donzelmann, Global Head of Regulatory and Public Affairs, Allianz SE
  • Wolfgang Stadler, independent, previous Executive Director Manufacturing, Jaguar Land Rover, UK

Honorary members

Prof. Dr. Clemens Börsig
Dr. Gerhard Cromme
Dr. Joachim Faber
Dr. Manfred Gentz
Klaus Krone
Prof. Dr. Wulff Plinke
Dr. Ihno Schneevoigt
Dr. Henning Schulte-Noelle

Legal Information

Registered name:

Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer der ESMT European School of Management and Technology e. V.

Management Board: Prof. Dr. Harald Hungenberg (Chairman), Nick Barniville, Anke Dassler, Claudia Donzelmann, Dr. Oliver Engels (Vice-Chairman), Georg Garlichs (Treasurer), and Wolfgang Stadler

Contact person:
Margaret Clark (+49 30 21231 1033)

  • We are very grateful to the following organizations for their membership and support

    • A. T. Kearney GmbH
    • Allianz SE
    • Axel Springer SE
    • B. Braun Melsungen AG
    • Bayerische Motoren Werke AG
    • Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie
    • Bundesvereinigung der Deutschen Arbeitgeberverbände
    • Daimler AG
    • Deutsche Bank AG
    • Deutsche Telekom AG
    • E.ON SE
    • Ernst & Young GmbH Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft
    • Gesamtverband der Arbeitgeberverbände der Metall- u. Elektro-Industrie
    • Industrie- und Handelskammer zu Berlin
    • KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft
    • McKinsey & Company, Inc.
    • Robert Bosch GmbH
    • Siemens AG
    • The Boston Consulting Group GmbH
    • thyssenkrupp AG
    • UniCredit Bank AG
    • Vereinigung der Unternehmensverbände in Berlin und Brandenburg
    • Wieland-Werke AG