Direkt zum Inhalt

ESMT Open Lecture mit Lord Chris Patten

"Europe after Brexit" 

Lord Patten wird einen Vortrag zum Thema "Europe after Brexit" halten. Zu Beginn wird er verschiedene Gründe für den Brexit erläutern und die unvermeidlichen Konsequenzen für Großbritannien darstellen. Er wird zudem auf die Ergebnisse eines Brexits für die Europäische Union mit besonderer Berücksichtigung eines No-Deal Brexits bezugnehmen. Danach wird Lord Patten über die Herausforderungen sprechen, denen sich die EU mit und ohne Großbritannien stellen muss. Dazu gehört der Migrationsdruck sowie die Beziehungen zu China, den USA und Russland. 


Donnerstag, 12. September 2019

18.00 Uhr.

"Europe after Brexit"
ESMT Berlin, Schlossplatz 1, 10178 Berlin
RednerinThe Rt Hon Lord Patten of Barnes, CH, Chancellor of the University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Moderator: Thomas B. Stehling, Chairman of Crossing Borders Ltd. London, United Kingdom and United Consultants Ltd., Hong Kong

Registrierung öffnet um 17.30 Uhr

Vortrag in englischer Sprache


Über den Vortragenden

Chris Patten wurde 1944 geboren und an der St Benedict’s School (Ealing) und dem Balliol College (Oxford) ausgebildet. Er war Direktor des Conservative Research Department (1974-79), Mitglied des Parlaments für Bath (1979-92), Minister (1983-92), und Vorsitzender der Conservative Party (1990-92). Von 1992-97 war er Gouverneur von Hong Kong; und von 1998-99 Vorsitzender des Independent Commission on Policing in Nord-Irland. Er war Mitglied der Europäischen Kommission, zuständig für Außenbeziehungen (1999-2004); und Vorsitzender des BBC Trust (2011-2014). Er wurde 1998 mit dem Orden Companion of Honour ausgezeichnet und 2005 in den Adelsstand erhoben. Er veröffentlichte die Bücher ‘The Tory Case’, ‘East and West’, ‘Not Quite The Diplomat’ und ‘What Next? – Surviving the 21st Century’. Sein aktuellstes Buch, ‘First Confession: A Sort of Memoir’ wurde Ende Juni 2017 veröffentlicht. Chris Patten ist seit 2003 Kanzler der University of Oxford. Er ist Vorstandsmitglied bei Russell Reynolds, Bridgepoint, BP International Advisory Board, Hutchison Europe und Vontobel Asset Management.

 


Wir weisen darauf hin, dass bei Veranstaltungen an der ESMT Fotos und Filmaufnahmen angefertigt werden können, die zur Darstellung unserer Aktivitäten auf der ESMT Webseite, Communityseiten wie Flickr und YouTube sowie auf Social Media Kanälen wie LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram und Twitter genutzt werden. Sollten Sie nicht fotografiert oder gefilmt werden wollen, sprechen Sie bitte einen ESMT Mitarbeiter oder eine ESMT Mitarbeiterin an.

In cooperation with
Partners

Skip to main content

ESMT Open Lecture with Lord Chris Patten

Open Lecture registration

You can attend the ESMT Open Lecture with Lord Chris Patten if you fill out our registration form.

"Europe after Brexit" 

Lord Patten will speak on the subject of "Europe after Brexit". He will begin by setting out various reasons for Brexit and the inevitable consequences for Britain, before referring to some of the results for the European Union, particularly if there is no agreed deal to withdraw. Lord Patten will then move on to talk about the challenges facing Europe, with or without British membership, including the pressures of migration and the relationship with China, the United States and Russia.


Thursday, September 12, 2019
6.00 p.m.

Registration starts at 5.30 p.m.

"Europe after Brexit"
ESMT Berlin, Schlossplatz 1, 10178 Berlin
Speaker: The Rt Hon Lord Patten of Barnes, CH, Chancellor of the University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Moderator: Thomas B. Stehling, Chairman of Crossing Borders Ltd. London, United Kingdom and United Consultants Ltd., Hong Kong

 

In order to attend the event, registration is required. Please register here


About the speaker

Chris Patten was born in 1944 and educated at St Benedict’s School (Ealing) and Balliol College (Oxford). He was Director of the Conservative Research Department (1974-79), MP for Bath (1979-92), a Minister (1983-92), and Chairman of the Conservative Party (1990-92). From 1992-97 he was Governor of Hong Kong; and from 1998-99 Chairman of the Independent Commission on Policing in Northern Ireland. He was European Commissioner for External Affairs (1999-2004); and Chairman of the BBC Trust (2011-2014). He was made a Companion of Honour in 1998, and a Life Peer in 2005. He has written ‘The Tory Case’, ‘East and West’, ‘Not Quite The Diplomat’ and ‘What Next? – Surviving the 21st Century’. His latest book, ‘First Confession: A Sort of Memoir’ was published at the end of June 2017. Chris Patten became Chancellor of the University of Oxford in 2003. He is a board member of Russell Reynolds, Bridgepoint, BP International Advisory Board, Hutchison Europe, and Vontobel Asset Management.

 


Please be advised that by attending ESMT Berlin events, photos and videos of you may be published, from time to time, for promotional purposes in print materials, on the ESMT website, media sharing sites like Flickr and YouTube, and social media channels such as LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Please advise an ESMT staff member should you not wish to be photographed or filmed. 

In cooperation with
Partners